Obama on Reddit

Did you hear about the President’s AMA (Ask Me Anything) on Reddit today? He sat and answered questions from 4:30 to 5:00 EST.

Obama on Reddit

A friend notified me on Facebook around 4:15. I immediately visited the site and saw over 300 comments already posted. Not even a minute later, the site crashed due to heavy load.

Reddit Crashed

For the next half hour, I bounced in my chair and hit the refresh button every 20 seconds. At 3:50 the front page briefly loaded for me, and I could see there were over 9,000 comments.

A coworker kept me updated on Obama’s responses while I struggled with the site. I’m not sure why it loaded for her, but I’m so glad it did. Overall, I was extremely impressed with the depth and honesty in his answers.

Obama’s AMA is by far the smartest thing I’ve ever seen a candidate do while campaigning. His appearance on Reddit was entirely free, with an immeasurable reach. In one short half hour, Obama connected with an audience simultaneously tech-savvy, politically aware and link-happy. An incredible combination.

Nicely played, Mr. President.

Any fellow redditors reading? What were your thoughts on the AMA? Were you able to follow in real time?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

