Mega Buc-ee’s

Last week, a friend emailed me a link to this article in the Wall Street Journal. Click through and read the full piece when you have a chance, but for now I’ll give you the gist of it.

Buc-ee's Rest Stop on I-35

Buc-ee’s, the popular Texas chain of rest stops known for its clean and spacious bathrooms, recently opened a 67,000 square foot location on I-35 between Austin and San Antonio. The store boasts some impressive stats: 84 toilets, 80 soda dispensers, 23 flavors of fudge and a length longer than a football field.

67,000 square foot Buc-ee's on I-35

Stephen and I first caught onto Buc-ee’s a little over a year ago when visiting my relatives in Houston for the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. The snacks were unique and the bathrooms were clean, but truthfully it was the novelty of it all that won us over.

So, when we learned about this colossal novelty of our favorite novel rest stop chain, it was pretty much determined that a visit needed to happen ASAP. Conveniently, our path to Schlitterbahn on Saturday took us straight down I-35.

Jerky Case at Mega Buc-ee's on I-35

Gourmet food products at Buc-ee's

A wall of snack options at Buc-ee's rest stop

Yes, I snapped photos inside a convenience store. And yes, Stephen and I practically skipped through the store, shouting about snack discoveries to each other across aisles wider than our apartment. I have no shame.

Buc-ee's Beaver Mascot Statue

Okay, I have a little shame. Despite my excitement, I just couldn’t bring myself to pose for a photo with the bronze beaver statue in front of the entrance. We all have our limits.

Pajamas for sale at Buc-ee's

Beaverlution T-shirt at Buc-ee's

Stephen bought himself a T-shirt at the Buc-ee’s outside Houston a few weeks ago, and he regretted his choice when he saw the variety at the I-35 location. The amount of merchandise for sale was seriously staggering. I think a repeat trip is in order for some holiday shopping. Try to act surprised when you open your gifts, friends!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

