Monday Memory: Avon Walk for Breast Cancer

Happy October 1st! Did you remember to say “rabbit rabbit” for good luck this morning?

In honor of National Breast Cancer Awareness Month, today’s Monday Memory is all about the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer.

Event Eve Houston Avon Walk for Breast Cancer 2012

My aunt Nancy and I at Houston’s Event Eve, April 2012

If you’re unfamiliar with the event, the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer is a national series of charitable walks, each lasting two days and spanning just under 40 miles. Since its foundation in 2003, the walk series has raised more than $440 million for breast cancer research and support programs.

My first Avon Walk was in Washington DC in May 2010. I joined a team of my friend’s coworkers, all of whom were first-time participants like me.

Washington Monument picture at the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer 2010

Aid vehicle decorated with bras at the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer

Posing at mile marker 26 during Day 1 of the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer

Washington DC Avon Walk Finish Line Day 1

We’re all smiles in these pictures, but those 40 miles were a struggle. Having individually completed triathlons, marathons and other endurance races, our team wrongly assumed that the two day walk would be a piece of cake. Turns out that 16 hours on your feet takes a different toll on your body than a 2 hour swim-bike-run.

Thankfully, positive memories of spirited volunteers, clever team costumes and inspiring survivor stories long outlasted my sore hips and feet. A few months later, I was eager to sign up for round two, this time in Houston with the company of my aunt Nancy.

All smiles at the finish line of day one of the Houston Avon Walk

Stephen had just received his acceptance letter from Texas A&M in spring 2011, so he tagged along from Maryland to scope out the Houston area and to support Nancy and I during the Walk. What a guy. He even donned a pink cowboy hat!

En Route at the Houston Avon Walk for Breast Cancer 2011

Houston Avon Walk 2011 Closing Ceremonies

Crowd holds hands at Houston Avon Walk for Breast Cancer 2011

Not surprisingly, Nancy enjoyed her first Walk as much as I did, and she was more than game to register with me again in 2012.

The Avon Walk is a moving experience, whether you do it solo or with a team, but Nancy’s company has made it all the more special for me. I really love that it’s becoming a little family tradition for us, made complete with spaghetti dinners and silly T-shirts. Did I mention Nancy’s a talented artist and kick-butt fundraiser? Check out some of the fun designs she created for our T-shirt sale last year.

Motorboating breast cancer fundraiser shirts

Retro print T-shirt to raise funds for breast cancer awareness

If you don’t understand the motorboat print, go watch Wedding Crashers or e-mail me for an explanation. 😉

It makes me proud to help such an important cause, and I hope there will be many more Walks in my future. My goal is to eventually walk in every city of the series: New York, Charlotte, Houston, Washington DC, Boston, Chicago, Santa Barbara and San Francisco.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I did the Avon Walk in Boston in 2009 with my mother (a breast cancer survivor) and a friend and her mom. We loved it (our feet did not lol) but I am itching to do another one. It was a ton of fun and a great cause. These shirt designs are fantastic btw!

    Reply
    • Ooh, I bet the Boston Walk is beautiful! What was the route like? I bet it was a great way to see the city.
      Your mom is an inspiration, and you’re a great daughter to show your support!

      Reply
      • The walk was great. We started at UMass and walked to Canton to camp at the Reebox headquarters office. We got to walk through a lot of the city and suburbs and the weather was fantastic Saturday. We did get a little rain and cold weather Sunday but it was to be expected in the Northeast 🙂 I’d love to do the DC one next time!

  2. Natalia

     /  October 2, 2012

    Loving the blog Linds!! Congratulations on the walk – the T-Shirts rock =))

    Miss ya!

    Reply
  1. Braving Antique Weekend in Warrenton « skinnyonlinny

Leave a Reply

