Tuesday Night Dinner Party

Thanks to six chairs purchased at IKEA and assembled over the weekend, Stephen and I threw our first dinner party in the new house last night. I’ve made dinner for friends at the house on several occasions before, but a dining room table and chairs in place of a coffee table and sofa elevate a meal to dinner party status in my mind.

Of course I failed to take any pictures (I really must get better at that), but I do have the recipes I made to share with you today.

On the menu:

Slow Cooker Bacon-Wrapped Apple BBQ Chicken via Chef in Training.

BBQAppleChicken

I tagged this recipe on Pinterest months ago, and I’m so glad I finally got around to making it. “Slow Cooker” initially caught my eye (I seriously cook 90% of our dinners in my Crock-Pot), and the words “bacon” and “apple” sealed the deal. It was absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing, Nikki!

We enjoyed the chicken with a side of collard greens (sauteed in chicken broth with garlic) and Ashley‘s Sweet Potato Beer Fries.

Beer Soaked Sweet Potato Fries

 

Ohh man, these fries made the house smell incredible. I soaked slices of sweet potato in Shiner Bohemian Black Lager for 20 minutes, then tossed them with minced garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper and baked for around an hour at 425 degrees. Yum.

After dinner, we played a few board games and made a pan of brownies disappear. It was a great night; I’m already looking forward to our next dinner party!

PS- If you’re moving soon, or if you moved recently, be sure to clip this coupon for $25 your next purchase at IKEA.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Friday Favorites « skinnyonlinny

Leave a Reply

