Friday Favorites

Happy Friday, friends!

Did this week pass quickly for you? I’m undecided. I feel like each day this month whizzed by, but I also can’t believe that it’s still January. Know what I mean?

Friday is my favorite day of the week (I know, how very original of me), so I’m in the mood to chat about other favorite things of late.

Favorite application: TuneIn Radio.

TuneIn Radio App

You know how people hate waking up to their alarm? Well, I hate turning mine off. If I dilly-dally and delay getting out of bed, it’s only because there’s something interesting on the morning radio show and I want to keep listening. It finally occurred to me that I should just find a radio app for my phone. It has made me so happy to be able to listen in during my morning walk and while prepping breakfast.

Favorite appliance: My Crock-Pot. Always and forever. Here are a few things I’ve made with it lately:

Pork Loin and Butternut Squash

(source)

Mega-Veggie Freezer Beef Stew

Pork Loin and Butternut Squash Stew

Chipotle Pork and Sweet Potato Stew with Cornbread <– Thanks, Mom!

Slow Cooker Bacon-Wrapped Apple BBQ Chicken

Pomegranate Beef

Favorite ingredient: Bacon.

Wonka Bacon Meme

(source)

I know, again with the originality. Everyone loves bacon. But, seriously, it’s been a grocery staple lately. In the words of the Frank’s RedHot Sauce lady, I put that sh*t on everything.

Favorite store: World Market.

World Market Store Front

My uncle gave me a gift card to World Market for Christmas (thanks again, Chuck!), and I’ve stopped by at least twice since then. Their grocery section is awesome. Until Austin gets a Trader Joe’s, World Market will be my go-to spot for fun party snacks, European chocolates and specialty beers.

Favorite Austin food truck: Nomad Dosa.

Nomad Dosa

(source)

Mmm… dosaaa. Stephen and I paid a visit to the South Congress food trailer park last Saturday, and I ordered the Holy Cow with mild Coconut Chutney. The potatoes were creamy, and the dosa was perfectly crisp and light. Despite a few too-spicy bites towards the end, I powered through and ate every last crumb. So good.

Favorite TV show: Breaking Bad.

Breaking Bad

This. show. rocks.

Seriously. Go get your hands on the first few seasons now and prepare for marathon nights. We’ve been watching two or three episodes at a time. Total sloths and no shame.

My co-workers are obsessed too. Most of them are a lot further along in the show than I am, but I love being able to gripe to them about obnoxious characters and twists in the plot.

So, that’s what I’m digging lately. What’s got your attention these days?

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

